Symbiota2 Project

The Symbiota2 Project is funded by the NSF-ABI program (July 2018 to July 2021). The purpose of the project is to rehaul the original software and develop additional functionality.

The Following pages include the original proposal with some updated content where appropriate.

Project Summary

Emergence of Symbiota and Current Needs

Project Goals and the Creation of Symbiota2

Technical Plans and Products

Product Availability and Ongoing Development

Project Management-Training-Outreach-Sustainability

Literature Cited

Data Management Plan

Software Engineering Plan (SEP): The SEP Will provide more specific information about software products (Expected by October 1, 2018) 

Symbiota2 Team Name Expertise-Role
curtis.dyreson@usu.edu Curtis Dyreson Computer Science, Lead PI,
Benjamin.Brandt@nau.edu Benjamin Brandt Lead Developer, , co-PI
will.pearse@usu.edu Will Pearse Ecology/Informatics, co-PI
Mary.Barkworth@usu.edu Mary Barkworth Taxonomy/Botany, , co-PI
Neil.Cobb@nau.edu Neil Cobb Biodiversity/Entomology, co-PI
     
Collaborators    
aporemski@gmail.com Andre Poremski Informatics/Computer Vision
amiller7@Illinois.edu Andrew Miller Mycology/Informatics
steve_buckley@nps.gov Steven Buckley Botany/Ecology
hardisol@science.oregonstate.edu Linda Hardison Taxonomy/Botany
mjyoder@Illinois.edu Matt  Yoder Informatics/Taxonomy
zaspelj@mpm.edu Jen Zaspel Entomology
lpage@flmnh.ufl.edu Larry Page Taxonomy/iDigBio lead